DESIGNATION AND Certifications

Certified Municipal Clerk Designation

The Certified Municipal Clerk (CMC) designation is offered by the International Institute of Municipal Clerks (IIMC). The program is designed to enhance the job performance of the clerk in small and large municipalities, and would be an asset to anyone working in the legislative services field in Alberta.

The designation is open to any IIMC member who performs the duties of a municipal clerk, regardless of job title. To successfully complete the program, you need to accrue 60 points in the education category and 50 points in the experience category. Much of your past education and experience may be counted towards the CMC requirements – the IIMC education department will work with you to determine how many points you already have.

Detailed information is available on the IIMC website.

Master Municipal Clerk Designation

The IIMC offers a second, more advanced designation called the Master Municipal Clerk (MMC) designation. The program is open to any IIMC member who has already attained the Certified Municipal Clerk (CMC) designation.

To successfully complete the MMC program, you need demonstrate that you have actively pursued education and professional activities. Participants must accrue 60 points in the advanced education category and 40 points in the professional contributions category.

Visit the IIMC website for more information.

National Advanced Certificate in Local Authority Administration Program

The Dalhousie University’s College of Continuing Education together with the University of Alberta Faculty of Extension offers a certificate program for local government administrators called the NACLAA. The courses are offered on-line, and are suitable for anyone wishing to pursue a career in municipal government. Completion of NACLAA Level 1 and Level 2 provides the academic component for certification as a Certified Local Government Manager.

Students may register in any course without registering in the program. Municipal clerks may particularly benefit from the Municipal Law 1 and Municipal Law 2 courses.

Visit the University of Alberta NACLAA website for more information.

Certified Local Government Manager (CLGM)

The CLGM designation is offered by Society of Local Government Managers. It’s awarded to society members who have at least five years of experience in local government management in Canada and who’ve completed NACLAA Level 1 and Level 2 (see above). This certification would be valuable to anyone working at the management level in a municipality.

Visit the Society of Local Government Managers website for more information.

© Alberta Municipal Clerks Association
PO Box 48111 Village Landing PO
St. Albert, AB  T8N 5V9

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software